lobiergo.blogg.se

Cdisplayex vs mycomics
Cdisplayex vs mycomics




  1. Cdisplayex vs mycomics movie#
  2. Cdisplayex vs mycomics pro#
  3. Cdisplayex vs mycomics windows 8#
  4. Cdisplayex vs mycomics windows#

Cdisplayex vs mycomics windows#

There may be other Windows Phone apps, but honestly I didn’t try them.

Cdisplayex vs mycomics windows 8#

Like his Windows 8 big brother the Windows Phone 8 app has a premium version for $.99 and a limited free version. Luckily, I didn’t have to search to far as the developer of comicsJolt! (LindyBeat) also has a similar Windows Phone app called Lindy Comics. Comics on Windows Phoneīuilding upon my success of reading comics on my Windows 8 devices, I went on the hunt for a great comic book reader for Windows Phone as well. The beauty of the Windows 8 environment is that there is a perfect device out there for everyone.

cdisplayex vs mycomics cdisplayex vs mycomics

Clearly, some of these devices are slightly bulkier which may make long-term reading a strain in the lap - but most should function just as well on a desk. I am sure the experience on devices likes the Asus VivoTab, Lenovo IdeaPad Yoga or the Dell XPS 12 are similar to my experiences with the Surface. There are of course other Windows 8 tablets and touch screen devices on the market in all shapes and sizes that I simply couldn’t test. The Comixology app is terrible in comparison with comicsJolt!, which is surprising because Comixology is a “market leader.” I personally recommend comicsJolt! because it performs great with touch or a mouse and keyboard and you can’t really beat the price.

Cdisplayex vs mycomics pro#

While these apps may work for you, remember that they will only work on Windows 8 Pro devices - and not on devices like the Surface for Windows 8 RT.

cdisplayex vs mycomics

There are also classic desktop apps including CDisplay EX, ComicRack and the lesser know MangaMeeya. There are other comic book app alternatives for Windows 8 devices, including the Windows Store app from Comixology. short of turning your laptop or monitors sideways, reading on a classic machine won’t be quite as awesome as a tablet - although you can easily read two pages at once in landscape mode. Navigating the app experience with the more traditional mouse and keyboard works well, although viewing the comics in portrait mode obviously isn’t as seamless as the Surface or tablet experience. It also works great on more traditional computers, like my Alienware laptop with a 15” display, and my home gaming machine that has dual 23” monitors. It should probably go without saying that the comicsJolt! app mentioned for the Surface devices above also work on any Windows 8 devices. Microsoft and our pals at the Surface team seem to know just how awesome the Surface devices are with comics, because they were at Comicon over the weekend. I rated the app five stars - and I’ll touch a bit more on why later. If you read comics regularly, it is certainly worth the tiny investment to maximize your reading pleasure. There is a free but limited version of comicsJolt!, but I highly recommend paying the $1.49 to not not only support the great indie developer, but also for the superior experience. For those of you familiar with the classic way of reading, doing so on a Surface should still be a pleasure.

cdisplayex vs mycomics

The 10.1” screens seem to be the sweet spot and the perfect size for viewing and reading, as it is nearly identical to the size of an actual paperback comic. I’ve read digital comics in the past on both iPad and Kindle Fire devices, and personally the experience just doesn’t compare. The Surface devices seem to be the perfect digital comic destination. With the flick of a finger you can turn the page and with a pinch you can zoom in and out to enjoy the book art in all of its HD glory. The Surface 16:9 resolution display area is also absolutely perfect for reading digital comics in portrait mode. I’ve tested the app thoroughly on both my Surface Pro and Surface RT and it runs flawless on each. I read my comics on my Surface utilizing a fabulous app called comicsJolt! The well-polished and feature rich app is developed by an indie developer ( LindyBeat) and is quite fantastic.ĬomicsJolt! is a Window Store app, which means that it will run on both the Surface for Windows 8 Pro, and the Surface for Windows RT. I am typing away on my Surface Pro and red TouchCover, just moments after finishing another issue of Marvel’s Scarlett Spider, a relatively new super hero now unfolding on the pages in my hometown of Houston. Mallrats even had a cameo from Stan Lee! Comics on the Surface Pro or Surface RTīelieve it or not I am currently writing this article cruising at 36,000 feet somewhere over north Texas as I head to Chicago.

Cdisplayex vs mycomics movie#

Meanwhile, in my teens the closest I ever got to a real comic book movie was Kevin Smith’s movies “ Mallrats” and “ Chasing Amy,” which had real geeks like myself discussing comics in real (and hilarious) ways. The difference of course between my comic book reading self of the 1980s and the present, is that thanks to recent blockbuster smash hits based on comic book characters - being a comic book geek is now mainstream.






Cdisplayex vs mycomics